top of page

Profile

I spoke to Shilika Chisoko about her university experience.


“My advice would be to build a network of friends that will support you.” - Shilika Chisoko

Building a community and identity is a sentiment applicable to every chapter of life; however, it is most important when one moves solo right after high school to a different country for tertiary education. Shilika Chisoko, a Zambian Journalism and English Honours student at Rhodes University; an exemplary student and content creator. Chisoko has established a well-rounded life in Makhanda, employing various social roles; a perfect example of a multifaceted student.

Shilika 22- a year-old wears many hats, namely Chiwotu zine curator; online thrift store owner ( thrift and things ); Makeup Artist (MUA); Baker, seamstress; photographer; social media brand content creator; Journalism and Media Studies tutor and RU community engagement member. Each of these roles is an extension of her identity and challenge different parts of her vast skills-set. She credits Makhanda "smallness" for equally empowering and consequently creativity but mostly enjoys how "student centred" the town is. The student community that Rhodes University offers has allowed for Shilika's talents to flourish, her work caters to a student demographic. I often asked Chisoko how she does it all, her answer, I have always hustled, an idea will haunt me until I execute it (paraphrased Shilika Chisoko). However, her self-awareness reveals just how relatable Chisoko is as a self-professed “Queen of procrastination” (Chisoko, Chiwotu)

I asked her what she misses most about home, she chuckles and states; “sembe nenze na leta vintu vo siyana siyana vaku nyumba; munga maheu. Lumanda na nshaba yo shashila” (the food and treats). Defining her identity within a foreign space has not been easy, initially filtered her opinions because of the many cultures she has encountered. The creative outlets have allowed her to fully express her identity whilst fostering a platform for others to do the same (i.e the interviews and photography exhibited on Chiwotu).

Recent Posts

See All

My Favorite Memory

A reflexive written piece the explores my favorite memory. It was not meant to be a beautiful day; in fact, everything around me reminded...

Comments


Cover of website .jpg

Hi, I'm  Avuzwa Japhta 

I'm a multimedia student at Rhodes University. I am inspired by self-improvement content and intend to produce meaningful work. This is my portfolio website displaying my body of work. 

 Connect with me

  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page