top of page

Rhodes University Mental Health Q&A

Uphazamiseko Iwengqondo is birthed in the Rhodes University space, inspired by the necessity for these kinds of conversations.



This is part 1 of a Q&A mental health series based on the Rhodes University campus. Students were randomly approached and questioned about their immediate thoughts on their understanding of mental health issues.


Reflection

This was the first media content that I produced for the multimedia course and it was undoubtedly my favourite thus far. My capstone project concept was still unclear however, I knew that the students would form a central voice in whatever I chose to produce. The plan was to spend time on campus, engaging with as many voices as possible to analyze if there was even a niche for my topic, especially within the Rhodes University paradigm. It was quite satisfying because I found that the students were eager to have these conversations and consequently desperate for informal platforms to express their thoughts. Youtube seemed to be the perfect platform because of its vast accessibility amongst students, and the kind of instant yet long-lasting engagement that I wish to garner for these kinds of videos.


 


Part 2 of the campus mental health Q&A



Do you think mental health issues are the second pandemic?

This question was motivated by the Term 1 2021 gradual return of students to RU campus, I wanted to gauge the opinions on "mental health pandemic".

The video further inspired the development of my project and the necessity to continue engaging in these conversations with my peers.



RU Psychology Department Tips on maintaining a mental wellness:

  • Maintain A Routine

  • Manage news consumption

  • Consume less Alcohol

  • Nurture social relationships


 

Focus Group Discussions About Mental Health Awareness


A discussion conducted with fellow media practitioners that explore mental health awareness in their respective projects.


Watch Part One Below.


Kommentare


Cover of website .jpg

Hi, I'm  Avuzwa Japhta 

I'm a multimedia student at Rhodes University. I am inspired by self-improvement content and intend to produce meaningful work. This is my portfolio website displaying my body of work. 

 Connect with me

  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page